Facts and Figures

Undergraduate Student Enrollment and Graduation Statistics :
Number of Papers Published by Petroleum Engineering Faculty:
(Source: Scopus)
Faculty Awards between Year 2016 – 2021
NameDATE Award / Recognition
Dr. Dhafer Al-Shehri2021Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Distinguished Membership Award.
2021Executive Board Member of the International Petroleum Engineering Department Heads.
2019Advisory Board Member of Petroleum Engineering Department, Khalifa University, UAE.
2018Appointed as member of SPE Middle East Board Advisory Council.
Dr. Shirish Patil2021-2026ABET Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) Commissioner.
2020Recipient of highest university award from the University of Alaska Fairbanks:
• Professor Emeritus- Petroleum Engineering.
• Director Emeritus- Petroleum Development Laboratory.
2018-PresentSPE Middle East Board of Directors- Academic Director.
2018-PresentAppointed as SPE Education and Accreditation Committee- Ex-Officio Member.
2016 – 2021Elected as a Foreign Member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences. This is the highest honor for any academician in Poland in July 2020.
2014SPE Western North America Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty.
2012ABET Engineering Accreditation
Commission (EAC) Commissioner.
Dr. Abdullah Sultan2021SPE Regional Distinguished Service Award.
Dr. Madhar Azad2021Outstanding technical reviewer award for SPE Journal
Dr. Mohamed Ahmed Nasr Eldin Mahmoud2021SPE Regional Production and Operations Award.
2020 - 2021Listed as top 2% researchers in the energy section by Stanford/Elsevier.
2020SPE Journal Outstanding Technical Editor Award.
2020SPE Drilling and Completion Journal Outstanding Technical Editor Award.
2019SPE Reservoir Engineering Journal Outstanding Technical Editor Award.
2017University Distinguished Research Award.
2016University Distinguished Teaching Award.
Dr. Abdulaziz Abdulla E Al-Majed2020SPE Distinguished Membership Award.
2019Certification of Appreciation. Recognition of Outstanding Students' Advising/KFUPM 5th Senior Design Expo.
Dr. Rahul Narayanrao Gajbhiye2020SPE Regional Service Award.
Dr. Ruud Weijermars2017SPE Distinguished Member Award.
Dr. Sidqi Ahmad M Abu-Khamsin2017SPE Distinguished Membership Award.
Student Competitions / Awards
TitleDATE TeamRank
SPWLA-KFUPM Student Chapter Paper Contest (PhD Division)2019Mr. Ahmed Abdulhamid Mahmoud1st Place
SPE Middle East and North Africa Regional Student Paper contest (PhD Division)20191st Place
SPWLA International Student Paper Contest (PhD Division)20193rd Place
MENA Virtual Regional Student Paper contest Ph.D. Level2020Mr. Amjed Hassan2nd Place
SPWLA-KFUPM Student Paper Contest (PhD Division)20171st Place
2020 MENA Virtual Regional Student Paper contest MS Level2020Mr. Ibrahim Gomaa1st Place
SPWLA-KFUPM Student Paper Contest (MS Division)20191st Place
2019 KFUPM-ARAMCO EXPEC-ARC TechBench Hack Day2019Mr. Abdulmalek Saif Ahmed3rd Place
MENA Regional Paper Contest (Master’s Division)2018Mr. Tural Jafarov2nd Place
SPE MENA Regional Paper Contest (PhD Division)2018Mr. Abdallah Yousif2nd Place
SPE MENA Regional Paper contest (Undergraduate Division)2018Mr. Rakan Adnan Fadl2nd Place
SPE MENA Regional Paper Contest (PhD Division)2018Mr. Shams Kalam3rd Place
ADIPEC University Program2017Mr. Ahmad Al-Amri
Mr. Abdulrahman Alowaid
Mr. Mohammad Al-Qarni
Mr. Mohammad Al-Subaie
Mr. Abdullah Al-Daej
3rd Place
SPE PetroBowl Regional Competition2017Mr. Rizwan Khan
Mr. Abdul Asad
Mr. Abdulmalek Almatrodi
Mr. Salah Al-Amair
Mr. Hassan Alismail
1st Place
2018Mr. Zeeshan Tariq
Mr. Mohamed Rasheed Khan
Mr. Ibrahim Al-Mulhim
Mr. Yazan Ghazzan Mheilbesh
Mr. Osamah Alluhaidan
1st Place
2019Mr. Zeeshan Tariq
Mr. Ahmed Elsayed Abdelaal
Mr. Rakan Adnan Fadl
Mr. Mohamed Lardhi
3rd Place
SPE PetroBowl International Competition2021Mr. Ahmed Elsayed Abdelaal
Mr. Adedimeji Adeyemi
Mr. Clement Afagwu
Mr. Sham Kalam
Mr. Saudi Yahya Alasiri
Top 8 teams out of the best 32 teams worldwide